الصحة الجنسية والإنجابية للمراهقين في المحيطات الإنسانية

تتفاقم صور استضعاف المراهقين خلال أوقات الأزمات والطوارئ نتيجة عدم الحصول على خدمات الصحة الجنسية والإنجابية. ويمكن أن يساعد رفع مستوى الاهتمام باحتياجات المراهقين واستخدام المناهج الإبداعية لإشراك تلك الفئة في التخفيف من الآثار التي غالباً ما تهدد حياتهم.

لنتخيل فتاة تبلغ من العمر 12 عاماً استوطنت مؤخراً أحد مخيمات اللاجئين مع أسرتها. تلك الفتاة أكبر إخوتها الذين يبلغ عددهم خمسة، وهي تساعد والدتها يومياً في الطهي وإحضار المياه والاعتناء بإخوتها وأخواتها الصغار. ليس لها أي أصدقاء هناك، كما أنها تشعر بأنها لا تجد من تلعب معه أو تتحدث إليه. وفي بعض الأحيان، كانت تشعر أنها ترغب في أن تكون وحدها حيث لا يطلب منها أحد أن تقوم بشيء. في بداية الأمر، اعتقدت أنه بإمكانها الذهاب إلى الحقل حيث كانت تقع المراحيض، لكن كان هناك العديد من الرجال والجنود أيضاً والذين كانوا يقولون أشياء لها ويصفرون ويشيرون إليها بإشارات تعلم أنها سيئة. لقد أحبت الذهاب إلى المدرسة وتعلم أن هناك مدرسة في المخيم حيث ترى الآخرين في سنها يذهبون كل يوم إليها لكنها لا تعلم كيفية الالتحاق بالمدرسة. وهي ترغب في أن يكون لها صديقة أو معلمة أو أختاً كبرى كي تتحدث إليها وتخفف عنها من شعور الاستضعاف.

وعند الانتقال من مرحلة الطفولة إلى مرحلة المراهقة، غالباً ما يستفيد المراهقون من تأثير النماذج الرائدة للراشدين والمعايير والهياكل الاجتماعية والمجموعات المجتمعية (مجموعات الأقران أو المجموعات الدينية أو الثقافية). لكن عندما يُهجَّر الأشخاص، تُمزَّق الهياكل الأسرية والاجتماعية، وقد ينفصل المراهقون عن أسرهم أو مجتمعاتهم، في حين تتوقف البرامج التعليمية الرسمية وغير الرسمية وتتفكك الشبكات المجتمعية والاجتماعية. وقد يشعر المراهقون بالخوف أو التوتر أو الملل أو الخمول، كما يمكن أن يجدوا أنفسهم في أوضاع خطرة لا يستعدون للتعامل معها، وقد يتولون أدوار الكبار على حين غرة دون استعداد أو دون أن يتوافر لهم نماذج إيجابية للراشدين أو شبكات للدعم حيث يمكنهم التعلم منها.

وربما لا يستطيع المراهقون الذين يجتازون الأزمات أن يتصوروا وجهة نظر إيجابية بالنسبة لهم، وقد يرسمون لأنفسهم صوراً مستقبلية قد تقضي عليهم. أما فقدان سبل كسب الرزق والأمن والحماية التي تقدمها في العادة العائلات إلى المراهقين فقد تقودهم إلى خطر الفقر والعنف والاستغلال الجنسي والاعتداء. وبصورة خاصة:

  • المراهقون الصغار المهجَّرون (10 – 14 عاماً)، خاصة الفتيات: يواجهون مخاطر الاستغلال والتهديدات الجنسية. ونظراً لمحدودية خبراتهم الحياتية، لا يمكنهم تحديد الطبيعة الجنسية للأفعال المسيئة أو الاستغلالية في البيئات غير المعروفة.
  • الفتيات المراهقات الحوامل: خاصة في عمر 16 عاماً، تواجهن المخاطر المتزايدة للولادة المتعسرة وهي حالة طارئة توليدية مهددة للحياة والتي قد تتطور عندما يكون الحوض غير الناضج ضيقاً بالدرجة التي لا تسمح بمرور الجنين عبر قناة الولادة. وقد يؤدي التأخير في العلاج إلى ناسور الولادة أو تمزق الرحم والنزيف ووفاة الأم والطفل.
  • المراهقون المنفصلون عن عائلاتهم والمراهقون أرباب الأسر: ينقصهم تأمين سبل كسب الرزق والحماية اللذين يحتاجهما بناء الأسرة، لذلك يواجه كثير منهم خطر الفقر والاستغلال الجنسي والإساءة. وقد يُرغم المراهقون المنفصلون عن عائلاتهم والمراهقون أرباب الأسر على مغادرة المدرسة أو الزواج أو الإتجار بالجنس من أجل تلبية احتياجات الطعام أو المأوى أو الحماية.
  • المراهقات المتاجرات بالجنس: تواجهن مخاطر الحمل غير المرغوب فيه والإجهاض غير الآمن والعدوى المنقولة جنسياً والإيدز والاستغلال الجنسي والإساءة الجنسية.
  • الناجيات من العنف الجنسي والعنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي: تواجهن الحمل غير المرغوب والإجهاد غير الآمن والعدوى المنقولة جنسياً، بما في ذلك الإيدز، إلى جانب مشكلات الصحة العقلية والمشكلات النفسية والاجتماعية والوصم الاجتماعي. وبعد زلزال هايتي، كان عدد كبير من ضحايا العنف الجنسي المعالجين من قِبل المنظمات الأهلية كمركز غيسيكو ومنظمة أطباء العالم من المراهقين والفتيات اللواتي لم يبلغن بعد.
  • الأطفال المرتبطون بالقوات المسلحة والجماعات المسلحة: غالباً ما يكون كلٌ من الفتيان والفتيات في ناشطين جنسياً في سنّ مبكرة للغاية ويواجهون المخاطر المتزايدة للعنف الجنسي والإساءة الجنسية ومشكلات الصحة العقلية والمشكلات النفسية والاجتماعية والحمل غير المرغوب والإجهاض غير الآمن والعدوى المنقولة جنسياً والإيدز.

وقد يترك تفكك الأسر وانقطاع التعليم وتوقف الخدمات الصحية خلال التَّهجير المراهقين غير قادرين على الحصول على معلومات وخدمات الصحة الجنسية والإنجابية خلال المدة التي يواجهون فيها المخاطر. فغالباً ما تُقوَّض خدمات الرعاية التوليدية في حالات الطوارئ، على سبيل المثال وفي أوضاع الأزمات بصورة عامة، مما يزيد من مخاطر المرض والوفاة بين الأمهات المراهقات وأطفالهن.

وقد يكون ضمان الحصول على خدمات التخطيط الأسري تدخلاً لإنقاذ الحياة في بيئات الأزمات غير المستقرة. وقد يعزز ذلك أيضاً حقوق الشابات في الصحة والتعليم والاستقلال. وكذلك، فإنَّ تدريب الموجِّهين من الأقران الشباب لزيادة الوعي حول مرض الإيدز وإظهار الاستخدام الصحيح والمستمر للواقي الذكري وإتاحة الواقيات الذكرية في حماية المراهقين تساعد في انتقال الأمراض المنقولة جنسياً بما فيها الإيدز التي يعرف بتفشيها في هذه المجموعة العمرية عالية الاستضعاف. وبالمثل، لن يحصل المراهقون على التزويد المنقذ للحياة للوقاية من المرض بعد الاصابة، والذي يُقدم كجزء من الإدارة السريرية للناجين من الاعتداءات الجنسية، إلا بعد توعيتهم بأنَّ العنف الجنسي يشكل انتهاكاً لحقوقهم وبأن لهم الحق في استشارة الأطباء والحصول على العلاج.

أدوات المراهقين

إدراكاً للاحتياجات الفريدة للمراهقين المواجهين لمثل هذه الأوضاع، وضع صندوق الأمم المتحدة للسكان ومؤسسة إنقاذ الطفل أداة لمساعدة مديري البرامج الإنسانية ومقدمي الرعاية الصحية في تلبية احتياجات الصحة الجنسية والإنجابية للمراهقين. ونُظر إلى تلك الأداة واسمها "مجموعة أدوات الصحة الجنسية والإنجابية للمراهقين في البيئات الإنسانية"[1] على أنها مرافق عملي للكتيب الميداني المشترك بين الوكالات حول الصحة الإنجابية في البيئات الإنسانية[2]. وإلى جانب تضمين التوجيه حول التخطيط للتدخلات الأساسية التي تتولاها القطاعات أو المهام المختلفة في العديد من المراحل تتضمن مجموعة الأدوات المذكورة ما يلي:

  • أدوات مجموعة الخدمات الأولية التي تمثل الحد الأدنى (للصحة الإنجابية) – وهي الأساليب الخاصة لتضمين التدخلات المركّزة على المراهقين كجزء من مجموعة الخدمات الأولية التي تمثل الحد الأدنى (للصحة الإنجابية).
  • أدوات المشاركة – تقدم التوجيه حول الإشراك المباشر للمراهقين في التدخلات الإنسانية وحول إشراك الآباء والمجتمعات فيما يتعلق بقضايا الصحة الجنسية والإنجابية للمراهقين.
  • أدوات التقييم – وهي مجموعة من الأسئلة المركّزة على الصحة الجنسية والإنجابية للمراهقين، سواء بالنسبة للتقييمات السريعة الأولية لتحليل الأوضاع الأوسع أم للدراسات الشاملة.
  • الأدوات القائمة على المرافق – وتقدم توجيهات للعمال الصحيين في البيئات الإنسانية عند العمل مع المراهقين.
  • أدوات التوزيع المجتمعية والتعليم بالأقران – الخطوات والإجراءات الملموسة لدعم التواصل المجتمعي.

منذ أوائل عام 2010، وأدوات الصحة الجنسية والإنجابية للمراهقين في المحيطات الإنسانية تستخدم في المساعدة في تدعيم الخدمات والبرامج المركزة على المراهقين في كثير من السياقات الإنسانية، كما الحال في هاييتي بعد الزلزال  ومع لاجئي ليبيا عام 2011 وفي مخيمات دولو-أدو في إثيوبيا.

[بداية المربع النصي]

لقد شرعت بعض منظمات المجتمع المدني مثل مؤسسة سترايت توك في أوغندا وشبكة الصحة الإنجابية للمراهقين على الحدود التايلاندية البورمية في عمل إبداعي حقيقي التي يمكن لنا أن نتعلمها كمجتمع[3].

مؤسسة سترايت توك منظمة أهلية أوغندية توفر الصحف والعروض الإذاعية والمراكز الشبابية للمراهقين، إلى جانب العروض الإذاعية للآباء والصحف للمعلمين، وجميعها يستهدف متلازمة نقص المناعة المكتسبة (الإيدز) والنشاط الجنسي والمراهقة، www.straighttalkfoundation.org.

تدير شبكة الصحة الإنجابية للمراهقين على الحدود التايلاندية البورمية مركزاً للشباب في ماي سوت، على سبيل المثال، حيث يجتمع اليافعون للقيام بالأنشطة الاجتماعية، وحيث يمكنهم أيضاً الحصول على خدمات الصحة الإنجابية والتنظيم الأسري ومنع الحمل والخدمات الاستشارية، www.arhburma.net/.

[نهاية المربع النصي]

إلا أن الجهود المبذولة للوصول إلى المراهقين وإشراكهم في حالات الطوارئ والمعلومات والخدمات الشاملة حول الصحة الجنسية والإنجابية ما زالت في أولى مراحلها. وفي حين أن هناك قليل من المنظمات التي التزمت بدمج التركيز على المراهقين في برامجها المتعلقة بالصحة الجنسية والإنجابية  فإن الاستهداف القصدي لهذه الفئة العمرية على العموم غالباً ما يكون فكرة متأخرة، أما تسهيل مشاركة المراهقين المجدية فقد كانت لا تخلو من تحديات رغم توافر الأدلة التجريبية على المخاطر ونواحي الاستضعاف التي تواجه هذه الفئة العمرية بالذات دون غيرها.

براد كيرنر BKerner@savechildren.org استشاري للصحة الإنجابية للمراهقين في مؤسسة إنقاذ الطفل www.savethechildren.org، وسيما مانوهار SManohar@savechildren.org اختصاصية الصحة الإنجابية للمراهقين في حالات الطوارئ بمؤسسة إنقاذ الطفل،  وسيسيل مازاكوراتي mazzacurati@unfpa.org اختصاصية في برنامج الشباب والنوع الاجتماعي، فرع الاستجابة الإنسانية، صندوق الأمم المتحدة للسكان www.unfpa.org، وميهوكو تانابي MihokoT@wrcommission.org مسؤولة الصحة الإنجابية، مفوضية اللاجئين النسائية www.womensrefugeecommission.org.

لمزيد من المعلومات أو لمشاركتنا بالممارسات المثلى يُرجى مراسلتنا على: ASRHToolkit@savechildren.org

 



[1] أُعدَّت مجموعة الأدوات بتوجيهات من لجنة الإنقاذ الدولية ومؤسسة جون سنو إنك ومؤسسة باثفايدنر ومبادرة توفير خدمات ومعلومات الصحة الإنجابية في حالات الطوارئ بجامعة كولومبيا ومنظمة إنقاذ الطفل وصندوق الأمم المتحدة للسكان ومفوضية الأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين واليونيسيف ومفوضية اللاجئين النسائية http://unfpa.org/public/home/publications/pid/4169

اللغة العربية غير متاحة

[3] في 2011، أطلق صندوق الأمم المتحدة للسكان ومؤسسة إنقاذ الطفل أيضاً دورة تعليم إلكتروني تفالية مدتها ساعة واحدة حول الصحة الجنسية والإنجابية في المحيطات الإنسانية www.iawg.net/resources/arhtoolkit.html

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Adolescent sexual and reproductive health in humanitarian settings

Particular vulnerabilities for adolescents during times of crisis and emergency are exacerbated by lack of access to sexual and reproductive health services. Greater attention to adolescents’ needs – and the use of innovative approaches to engage them – can help mitigate often life-threatening impacts.

Imagine a 12-year-old girl recently settled in a refugee camp with her family. She is the eldest daughter and has five siblings. She tries to help her mother every day with cooking, collecting water, taking care of her younger brothers and sisters. She has none of her friends there and feels like she has no one to play with or talk to. Sometimes, she feels like she wants to be alone, where no one is asking her to do anything. At first, she thought she could go to the field where the latrines are located. But there are many men around, soldiers too, and they say things to her, whistling, making gestures she knows are bad. She liked going to school and knows there is a school in the camp where she sees others her age going every day. However, she does not know how she can attend. She wants to have a friend or a teacher or an older sister to talk to and make her feel less vulnerable.

In the transition from childhood to adulthood, adolescents normally benefit from the influence of adult role models, social norms and structures, and community groups (peer, religious or cultural). When people are displaced, however, family and social structures are disrupted. Adolescents may be separated from their families or communities, while formal and informal educational programmes are discontinued, and community and social networks break down. Adolescents may be fearful, stressed, bored or idle. They may find themselves in risky situations that they are not prepared for dealing with and they may suddenly have to take on adult roles without preparation, positive adult role models or support networks.

Adolescents who live through crises may not be able to visualise a positive outlook for themselves, and may develop fatalistic views about the future. The loss of livelihood, security and protection provided by the family and community places adolescents at risk of poverty, violence, and sexual exploitation and abuse. In particular:

  • Displaced very young adolescents (10-14 years), especially girls, are at risk of sexual exploitation and abuse. Because of their limited life experience, they may not recognise the sexual nature of abusive or exploitative actions in strange settings.
  • Pregnant adolescent girls, particularly those under 16, are at increased risk of obstructed labour, a life-threatening obstetric emergency that can develop when the immature pelvis is too small to allow the passage of a baby through the birth canal. Delay in treatment can lead to obstetric fistula or uterine rupture, haemorrhage and death of the mother and child.
  • Adolescents separated from their families and adolescent heads of household lack the livelihood security and protection afforded by the family structure, and are therefore more at risk from poverty and sexual exploitation and abuse. Separated adolescents and adolescent heads of household may be compelled to drop out of school, marry or sell sex in order to meet their needs for food, shelter – or protection.
  • Adolescent girls selling sex are at risk of unwanted pregnancy, unsafe abortion, STIs and HIV, and sexual exploitation and abuse.
  • Survivors of sexual and gender-based violence are at risk of unwanted pregnancy, unsafe abortion, STIs including HIV, as well as mental health and psychosocial problems and social stigmatisation. In post-earthquake Haiti, a significant proportion of survivors of sexual violence treated by the NGOs GHESKIO and Médecins du Monde were adolescent and prepubescent girls.
  • Children Associated with Armed Forces and Armed Groups, both boys and girls, are often sexually active at a much earlier age and face increased risk of sexual violence and abuse, mental health and psychosocial problems, unwanted pregnancy, unsafe abortion, STIs and HIV infection.

 

The disruption to families, education and health services during displacement may leave adolescents without access to sexual and reproductive health information and services during a period when they are at risk. Emergency obstetric care services, for example, are often compromised in crisis settings generally, increasing the risk of morbidity and mortality among adolescent mothers and their babies.

Ensuring access to family planning services can be a life-saving intervention in unstable, crisis environments. It can also promote a young woman’s rights to health, education and independence. Likewise, training of youth peer educators to raise HIV awareness, exhibit correct and consistent use of condoms and make condoms available helps protect adolescents from the transmission of STIs, including HIV, that are known to be rampant in this highly vulnerable age group. Similarly, adolescents will only have access to the life-saving provision of post-exposure prophylaxis – provided as part of clinical management of sexual assault survivors – if they are made aware of sexual violence as a violation and of their right to counselling and treatment.

Adolescent Toolkit

Recognising the unique needs of adolescents facing such situations, the United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA) and Save the Children developed a tool to help humanitarian programme managers and healthcare providers meet the sexual and reproductive health needs of adolescents. The Adolescent Sexual and Reproductive Health Toolkit for Humanitarian Settings[1] was conceived as a practical companion to the Inter-Agency Field Manual on Reproductive Health in Humanitarian Settings[2]. As well as including guidance on mapping out key interventions to be undertaken by various sectors or functions in different phases, the ASRH Toolkit includes:

  • MISP tools – specific ways to include interventions focused on adolescents as part of the Minimum Initial Service Package (MISP) for Reproductive Health.
  • Participation tools – guidance on directly engaging adolescents in humanitarian interventions, and on involving parents and communities on adolescent sexual and reproductive health issues.
  • Assessment tools – questions focused on adolescent sexual and reproductive health, either for initial rapid assessments, for broader situational analysis or for comprehensive surveys.
  • Facility-based tools – guidance for health workers in humanitarian settings in working with adolescents.
  • Community-based distribution and peer education tools – concrete tips and actions to support community-based outreach.

 

Since early 2010, the ASRH Toolkit has been used to help strengthen adolescent-focused services and programmes in several humanitarian contexts, such as in post-earthquake Haiti, with refugees from Libya in 2011 and in the Dollo-Ado camps in Ethiopia.

 

Some civil society organisations – such as the Straight Talk Foundation in Uganda and the Adolescent Reproductive Health Network on the Thai-Burma border – have embarked on truly innovative work from which we as a community can learn.[3]

Straight Talk Foundation is a Ugandan NGO providing newspapers, radio shows and youth centres for teenagers, as well as radio shows for parents and newspapers for teachers, all focusing on HIV, sexuality and adolescence. www.straighttalkfoundation.org

The Adolescent Reproductive Health Network on the Thai/Burma border runs a youth centre in Mae Sot, for example, where young people gather for social activities and where they can also access reproductive health and family planning information, contraception and counselling services. www.arhburma.net/.

 

But efforts to truly reach and engage adolescents in emergencies with comprehensive sexual and reproductive health information and services are still in their early days. While there are a few organisations that have committed to integrating a focus on adolescents into their sexual and reproductive health programming, in general intentional targeting of this age group is often an afterthought and the facilitation of meaningful adolescent participation has been challenging, despite empirical evidence of their very specific and damaging risks and vulnerabilities.

 

Brad Kerner BKerner@savechildren.org is Adolescent Reproductive Health Advisor, and Seema Manohar SManohar@savechildren.org is Emergency Adolescent Reproductive Health Specialist, at Save the Children. www.savethechildren.org  Cécile Mazzacurati mazzacurati@unfpa.org is Programme Specialist, Youth and Gender, Humanitarian Response Branch, UNFPA. www.unfpa.org  Mihoko Tanabe MihokoT@wrcommission.org is Reproductive Health Program Officer, Women’s Refugee Commission. www.womensrefugeecommission.org

For more information or to share your best practice, email ASRHToolkit@savechildren.org



[1] Developed under the guidance of the International Rescue Committee, John Snow, Inc., Pathfinder, the RAISE Initiative at Columbia University, Save the Children, UNFPA, UNHCR, UNICEF and Women’s Refugee Commission http://unfpa.org/public/home/publications/pid/4169

[3] In 2011 UNFPA and Save the Children also launched a one-hour interactive e-learning course on adolescent sexual and reproductive health in humanitarian settings www.iawg.net/resources/arhtoolkit.html

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview