يافعون ومنفصلون عن عوائلهم في شرق الكونغو

بالإضافة إلى المعاناة من الآثار الجانبية كفقدان حنان الوالدين وإرشادهم، يعاني اليافعين غير المصحوبين ببالغين أيضاً من تعرضهم للوسم من قبل أبناء المجتمعات المضيفة.

يعيش حوالي 62 يافعاً ممن تتراوح أعمارهم ما بين 7 و22 عاماً، وجميعهم منفصلون عن عوائلهم، حالياً ضمن مجتمع كنسي في مدينة أنغو، شرقي جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية. ويحيا البعض مع أسر التبني والأخرون بمفردهم في الملاجئ الضيقة التي بنوها على الأراضي التي وفرتها لهم الكنيسة. وقد فقد أغلبهم الاتصال بوالديهم منذ فرارهم. وهم يعيشون على المعلومات غير المتكاملة حول أماكن عائلاتهم وأوضاعها ويتلقون هذه المعلومات من التجار أو عبر الاتصالات اللاسلكية من مركز الشرطة في أنغو. يقول باتريك (18 عاماً): "على العموم، لا نتلقى المعلومات إلا عندما يكون أحد أفراد الأسرة مريضاً أو متوفى" ويعيش بارتيك حالياً في منزل للتبني في أنغو منذ أكثر من عام.

وفي أواخر عام 2011، كان هناك حوالي 471000 نازح داخلي في إقليم أورينتال، شرقي جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية. ومن هؤلاء، فرّ حوالي 321000 إلى مقاطعات هوت وباس يولي من منازلهم خوفاً من الأعمال الوحشية، كالقتل والتشويه والاختطاف، التي يقوم بها جيش الرب للمقاومة. وقد سعوا إلى اللجوء في مناطق مثل مدينة أنغو التي تعد الآن موطناً لحوالي 20000 شخص، منهم 12000 شخص من النازحين داخلياً أو ممن كانوا من قبل نازحين داخلياً. كما أن الأغلبية العظمى تحصل بشكل محدود على مياه الشرب والطعام وبذور المحاصيل الزراعية والمأوى والرعاية الصحية. وقد ترك انعدام الأمن والنزوح وشبكات الطرق الردئية سكان أنغو بمنأى عن المساعدة الإنسانية.

وعندما وصلت الأفواج الأولى من اليافعين إلى أنغو، تعرّف البعض بشكل مبهم على أقاربهم الذين يعيشون في تلك المنطقة، وبالنسبة للآخرين، كانت الصلة الوحيدة هي المجتمع الكنسي المشابه للمجتمع الذي عرفوه في موطنهم. ومن خلال المجتمع الكنسي وإحدى المنظمات الأهلية العاملة هناك، تم إيواء اليافعين غير المصحوبين ببالغين ضمن أسر التبني وبعض تلك العائلات قد أضحت تستنزف بالفعل كل طاقاتها بل أصبحت غير قادرة على إعالة أفرادها.

وبالنظر إلى الطبيعة المطوّلة للصراع، يبدو لم الشمل الأسري غير محتمل. وفي نفس الوقت، بقيت حياتهم طي النسيان، وبقيت تمثل صراعاً مستمراً من أجل البقاء. ولذلك استحدثوا إجراءات للتعايش تجمعهم مع غيرهم ممن يعانون من الأوضاع المشابهة وممن يتشاركون بالأواصر الدينية ذاتها، وهم يبحثون عن الموجّهين ضمن المجتمع الكنسي من أجل الإرشاد. ويساعد قادة الكنيسة في تسوية النزاعات والتدخل نيابة عنهم عند ظهور التوترات بينهم أو بينهم والمجتمع المضيف. إلا أن قادة الكنيسة ليسوا في موضع يسمح لهم بتولي المسؤولية الكاملة عنهم.

وفضلاً عن ضغط إطعام المزيد من الأفواه، فإنَّ أسر التبني لديها أطفالها وها قد استقبلوا الآن ثلاثة أو أربعة أطفال غالباً ما يكونوا مراهقين يحتاجون التوجيه والإرشاد. يقول باتريك إنَّ أمه بالتبني تعامله كما لو كان ابنها الحقيقي، وتحرص على بقائه في المدرسة وأن يتحلى بالسلوك اللائق والمحتشم. أما الآخرون، فهم متروكون لتعلم كيفية التصرف من الآخرين المحيطين بهم.


[مربع نصي – يتم وضعه بالصورة المناسبة مع التصميم]

في عام 2010، شاهدت أنوبيو بيبونا (19 عاماً) جيش الرب للمقاومة وهو يقتل والدها والعديد من الأشخاص في قريتها: سوكادي. وتم اختطاف العديد من الأشخاص وسُلبت القرية من قِبل المتمردين. وتمكنت أنوبيو من الهرب إلى الغرب مع أشقائها الثلاثة الأصغر وابنة عمها ذات الثلاث سنوات. وعندما وصلوا إلى أنغو، على بُعد حوالي 80 كم، اكتشفوا أن والدتهم قد فرت إلى الشمال إلى جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى. ومنذ ذلك الحين، لم يرونها، لكن في القليل من المرات تمكنوا من الاتصال بها من خلال جهاز اللاسلكي عالي التردد.

وبوصفها الأكبر سناً، اضطرت أنوبيو إلى تولي مسؤولية إعاشة أسرتها المكوّنة من خمسة أفراد. ولم تكن المسؤولة عن كسب الرزق فقط وإنما كانت أيضاً لغرس الانضباط بين الصغار والإشراف على كافة الأعمال التي يمكن لإخوتها القيام بها لكسب المزيد من الأموال، مع رعاية ابنة عمتها الصغيرة التي تعد الآن والدتها. ولكي تنجز كل هذه المهام، كان عليها التضحية بطموحاتها وترك المدرسة.  تقول أنوبيو: "إن تركيزي الآن هو على إخوتي. لا يمكنني الآن التفكير في تعليمي، فعلي أن أجعل الأولوية لهم الآن" تقول أنوبيو، "وأنا أعلمهم الدفاع عن أنفسهم. فقد يجدون أنفسهم وحيدين يوماً ما ويحتاجون إلى معرفة كيفية الحياة."

[نهاية المربع النصي]

المحرومون

تعتمد مسؤولية الإطعام أو دفع مصروفات المدرسة بصورة مباشرة على اليافعين غير المصحوبين ببالغين الذين قد يتمكنون من الحصول على أعمال باليومية، لكنهم يتلقون أجور أقل نظير نفس العمل الذي يقوم به أقرانهم بالمجتمعات المضيفة، وتكون هناك منافسة كبيرة على العمل. والبعض يُجبَر على القيام بالأعمال الشاقة نظير السكن والطعام أو تطلب منه الأسر المضيفة والمثقلة بالأعباء المغادرة.

ويُرغم اليافعون على تولي مسؤوليات البالغين لمواجهة الظروف الجديدة التي وجدوا أنفسهم فيها. وتتطلب أغلب فرص العمل المتاحة العمل الشاق مثل البناء أو زراعة الحقول التي يكون فيها الأفضلية للفتيان. أما الفتيات فلا يتاح لهن القدر ذاته من خيارات العمل التي تنتهي غالباً بمهام مثل صناعة زيت النخيل أو تقطيع الأخشاب لبيعها في السوق، وهن لا يتكسبن الكثير من الأموال.

ونتيجة لذلك، تتعرض الفتيات النازحات إلى الدعارة والاستغلال من مجتمع النازحين داخلياً ومن أفراد المجتمع المضيف. وعلى الرغم من حملات التوعية حول الجنس الآمن ومخاطر الدعارة، فقد اتبعوا هذا الأسلوب للعيش نظراً لنقص موارد العيش البديلة والنامية، مما يزيد من مخاطر الاعتداء عليهم وحدوث الحمل غير المرغوب فيه والزواج المبكر.

يقول أوسكار موسي ساسا، رئيس لجنة النازحين داخلياً في أنغو أن الفتيات غالباً ما يقعن فريسة للجنس. "لقد رأيت فتيات في سن 12 عاماً ويتم استقطابهن لممارسة الجنس. وهن مضطرات إلى تسليم أنفسهن للفتيان، حيث أصبح ذلك وسيلة لكسب العيش".

وتنتقل ملكية الأراضي في المنطقة من جيل إلى جيل، لذلك تتضاءل فرص نقل الأسر المضيفة ملكية أراضيهم للأطفال "الأجانب". وتمثل ملكية الأرض المزروعة احساساً بالهوية، إلى جانب سبل كسب الرزق. وقد تمكن العديد من الشباب ممن عاشوا ضمن المجتمع لفترة طويلة من الحصول على بعض الأراضي لزراعتها. إلا أن الخوف من هجمات جيش الرب للمقاومة يعني أن يعزف الأشخاص عن السفر بعيداً عن البلدة، وبذلك تقل الأراضي القابلة للزراعة. وغالباً ما ينتهي الأمر بالنازحين داخلياً بحقول زراعية أقل خصوبة. وفي بعض الحالات، بعد أن تمكن البعض من زراعة المحاصيل بنجاح، أتى أفراد من المجتمع المضيف وادعو ملكيتهم للمحصول.

التهميش من قِبل المساعدة الإنسانية

على الرغم من مساعدة القليل من المنظمات الإنسانية للأشخاص النازحين في أنغو بالرعاية الصحية المجانية أو المساعدة في سداد رسوم المدارس، على سبيل المثال، فإنَّ اليافعين النازحين غير بالغين أو متزوجين، وبذلك لا يستوفون المعايير الخاصة باستضعاف المستفيدين، ولا يؤهلون للحصول على الطعام أو البذور الزراعية.

وتعد منطقة باس يولي غير آمنة، وأغلب المانحين ليسوا من الجهات الإنمائية بل تقدم مساعداتها على أساس الاستجابة لحالات الطوارئ فقط، لكنَّ هذه الفئة من اليافعين المهجرين وغير المصاحبين ببالغين تحتاج إلى التدخلات الإنمائية وليس إلى تلك القائمة على حالات الطوارئ. وفي حين يستفيد هؤلاء اليافعون من مستويات محددة من المساعدة الإنسانية، بما في ذلك الوصول إلى الطعام الموزّع على الذين تضمهم أسر التبني والحصول على الرعاية الصحية والمساعدة النفسية والاجتماعية والتعليم، ومع أنَّ الحلول طويلة الأجل قد تساعد في الحد من تهديد الاستغلال الجنسي وتقدم كذلك إمكانيات لمستقبل أفضل فإنها تنطوي على تداعيات سلبية، كانفصال القاصرين طوعياً عن الأوصياء عليهم للاستفادة من مثل تلك التدخلات.

وعلى الرغم من أن ظروف معيشتهم الحالية تبدو صعبة، فإنهم يعتقدون أن الوضع أكثر سوءاً في مخيمات اللاجئين التي يعيش فيها آباؤهم في جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى. ولكونهم ممزقين بين إمكانية لم شملهم بوالديهم أو البقاء في أنغو، حيث يوجد فرصة لهم لإيجاد عمل وحضور المدرسة، يفضل أغلبهم البقاء. يقول جان بيير (23 عاماً): "قد لا تكون الحياة هنا الأفضل، لكنني ما زلت في بلدي. ولا يمكنني أن أتخيل أن أعيش لاجئاً في دولة أخرى."

يستند هذا المقال إلى المقابلات مع 23 يافعاً نازحاً تتراوح أعمارهم ما بين 7 و22 عاماً، ممن تفرقوا عن والديهم. وتعتمد وجهات النظر الواردة هنا على تعليقاتهم وتعليقات أسرهم بالتبني وقادة الكنيسة ورئيس لجنة النازحين داخلياً وبعض المنظمات الأهلية العاملة في هذا المجتمع.

 

غلوريا ليهيمو fco-congo@medair.org مسؤول الاتصالات الميدانية بمنظمة ميدير www.medair.org في جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية.

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Young and separated from their families in eastern Congo

As well as suffering the obvious side-effects such as missing parental affection and guidance, unaccompanied displaced youth also suffer from being stigmatised by some members of the host communities.

About 62 youths aged between 7 and 22, all separated from their families, are currently living within a church community in Ango town in eastern Democratic Republic of Congo. Some live with foster families, others by themselves in tiny shelters they have constructed on land offered to them by the church. Most have had no contact with their parents since they fled. They live on piecemeal information on the whereabouts and status of their families which they receive from traders or through radio communication from a police post in Ango. “Mostly we only receive information when a family member is either sick or dead,” says 18-year-old Patrick who has been living in a foster home in Ango for over a year.

In late 2011, there were an estimated 471,000 IDPs in Orientale Province in eastern DRC. Of these, some 321,000 were in Haut and Bas Uélé districts, having fled their homes in fear of atrocities – killings, mutilations and abductions – by the Lord’s Resistance Army (LRA). They have sought refuge in places such as the town of Ango which is now home to an estimated 20,000 people, of whom 12,000 are IDPs or former IDPs. The vast majority have very limited access to potable water, food, seeds to cultivate, shelter and health care. Insecurity, remoteness and a very poor road network have left Ango’s population marginalised from humanitarian assistance.

When the youths first arrived in Ango, some knew vaguely of relatives who live in the area; for others the only connection was a church community similar to one they knew back home. Through the church community and an NGO working there, the young people were placed within foster families, some of whom were already stretched to their limits and unable to feed their own families.

Given the protracted nature of the conflict, reunion with their families seems improbable. In the meantime, their lives hang in limbo, a continuous struggle for survival. They have developed coping mechanisms, grouping together with others in a similar situation and tied to the religious community because of shared religious faith, and they seek mentors within the church community for guidance. The church leaders help settle disputes and intervene on their behalf when there are tensions among them or with the host community. The church leaders are not in a position, however, to maintain overall responsibility for them.

Aside from the strain of feeding extra mouths, foster families already have children of their own and have now taken on three or four more, usually adolescents, who need proper mentoring and guidance. Patrick says his adoptive mother treats him like her own son, and ensures he stays in school and that he conducts himself with decorum. Others are just left to learn how to behave from others around them.

 

In 2010, 19-year-old Anumbue Bipuna watched as the LRA killed her father and several other people in her village of Sukadi. Many people were abducted and the village was pillaged by the rebels. She managed to escape to the west with her three younger brothers and her three-year-old cousin. When they arrived in Ango, about 80km away, they discovered that their mother had fled north to the Central African Republic. They have not seen her since, although on a few occasions they have managed to contact her by radio. 

As the eldest, Anumbue has been forced to take on the responsibility of running her family of five. She is not only the breadwinner but also has to instil discipline among the younger ones and supervise whatever work her brothers can do to bring in extra money, all the while taking care of her young cousin who now looks to her as her mother. To be able to wear all these hats, she has had to sacrifice her ambitions and drop out of school. “My only focus now is my siblings. I cannot think about my own education now – I have to put them first,” she says. “I teach them to fend for themselves. They might find themselves alone one day and need to know how to survive.”

 

Disadvantaged

The responsibility of putting food on the table or paying for school rests squarely on the young people’s shoulders. They may manage to get day labour jobs but they receive a lower wage for the same amount of work than members of the host communities, and there is great competition for the work. Some are forced to perform hard labour in exchange for accommodation and food, or are simply asked to leave by overburdened host families. 

Displaced youths are forced to take on adult responsibilities to survive the new circumstances they find themselves in. Most employment opportunities available require hard labour like construction or cultivating fields which obviously favour the boys. Girls have fewer options for work, often ending up with tasks such as making palm oil or chopping wood to sell in the market and they do not earn as much money.

As a result some of the displaced girls are exposed to prostitution and manipulation both from among the IDP community and by members of the host community. Despite awareness campaigns on safe sex and the dangers of prostitution, they have adopted this lifestyle for lack of a viable alternative source of income, exacerbating further their risk of abuse, unwanted pregnancies and premature marriages.

Oscar Musi Sasa, president of the IDP committee in Ango, concurs that girls are often preyed on for sex. “I have seen girls who are as young as 12 years old already being solicited for sex. They are forced to give themselves to boys as it has become their means for survival,” he says.

Land in the area is passed on from generation to generation, so the chances of host families passing on their land to ‘foreign’ children are slim. Ownership of land to cultivate provides a sense of identity as well as a means of livelihood. Some of the youths that have lived among the community for a long time have managed to be allocated some land to cultivate. Fear of LRA attacks, however, means that people are reluctant to travel far from town and so reduces the amount of cultivable land. IDPs often end up with less fertile fields. In some instances, after some have managed to successfully cultivate crops, members of the host community have claimed ownership of the harvest.

Sidelined by humanitarian assistance

Although a few humanitarian organisations assist displaced people in Ango with, for example, free health care or assistance in paying school fees, the displaced youth are neither adults nor married and thus do not fit the criteria set for vulnerability of beneficiaries and so do not qualify for distribution of food or seeds to plant.

Bas Uélé territory is an insecure zone and the major donors are emergency rather than development donors, while the interventions required by these dislocated children are developmental rather than emergency. While these youths benefit from certain levels of humanitarian assistance – including access to food distribution for those within foster families, access to health care, psychosocial assistance and education – longer-term solutions that can help curb the threat of sexual exploitation as well as offer them possibilities for a better future could have negative repercussions, such as more minors voluntarily separating from their guardians to benefit from such interventions. 

Although their current living conditions seem difficult, they believe the situation is even worse in the refugee camps where their parents are in the Central African Republic. Torn between the prospect of being reunited with them or staying in Ango where they have a chance to find work and attend school, most prefer to stay. “Life might not be the best here but I am still in my own country. I cannot imagine living as a refugee in another country,” says 23-year-old Jean-Pierre.

 

Gloria Lihemo fco-congo@medair.org is Field Communications Officer for Medair www.medair.org in the Democratic Republic of Congo. This article is based on interviews with 23 displaced youths aged between 7 and 22 years who have been separated from their parents. The views expressed here are drawn from their comments as well as those of foster families, church leaders, the president of the IDP committee and some NGOs working with this community.

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview