التأملات الثقافية للشباب الأفغاني المقيم في كندا

يأتي احترام من هم أكبر سناً، أي الوالدين والأجداد والإخوة الأكبر سناً ضمن نطاق الأسرة، في قلب الثقافة الأفغانية. ويتم التعبير عن هذا الاحترام بصورة مادية في العديد من الصور، من التواصل البصري غير المباشر أو المتدني مع الأكبر سناً عند الحديث إليه إلى توفير مكان الجلوس له. وتبين المقابلات التي أُجريت مع الشباب الأفغاني اللاجئ الذي انتقل إلى فانكوفر بكندا خلال سنوات مراهقتهم سعادة جميع من تمت معهم المقابلات بالمحافظة على العلاقات المترابطة بين الأجيال، لكن رحب البعض أيضاً بتأثير المعايير المجتمعية الغربية. ويذكر أحد الشباب البالغ من العمر 23 عاماً أن قدرته على التواصل البصري مع من يكبره سناً تسمح له بتقييم ردود أفعالهم تجاه حديثه، وهذا جانب هام من جوانب التواصل، كما يشعر كذلك أن اعتباره على قدم المساواة مع إخواته الكبار يساهم في خلق علاقات اجتماعية أكثر ودية فيما بينهم.

وقد عبر جميع من أُجريت معهم المقابلات عن أسفهم جراء "انفصالهم" عن والديهم نظراً لأن تعليمهم وعملهم قد قلل الوقت الذي يقضونه معهم، رغم أن البعض قال أيضاً إن ذلك نتيجة لعدم معرفة والديهم بالمجتمع الغربي، وبالتالي انعدام قدرتهم على تقديم الإرشاد التعليمي أو المهني.

ويولي المزيد من الاهتمام لليافعين في اختيار أزواجهم، سواء رجع ذلك للتغييرات الفعلية اللاحقة بالمفاهيم الأفغانية التقليدية للزواج أم لأنهم يتكيفون بصورة عملية للظروف المختلفة، أي عدم إمكانية إيجاد الزوج المناسب من نفس جماعتهم العرقية في الدولة الأجنبية. لكن تبقى بعض المعايير الثقافية المتعلقة بالعلاقات دونما تغيير، وأبلغ كافة الشباب أن مفهوم المواعدة العرضية ليس مقبولاً.

وذكر الكثير ممن تمت مقابلتهم أن هناك تغييراً أساسياً في المواقف تجاه الفروق الجنسانية، مما ينتج عنه مشاركة نسائية أكبر في العلاقات الدينية والأسرية داخل المجتمع الأفغاني. ووفقاً لإحدى الشابات التي تجاوزت منتصف العقد الثالث من عمرها، "فإن الشيء الأخر الذي تغيّر بعد إعادة توطينهم في كندا هو تشجيع الذكور للإناث واحترامهن [و] تقديرهن من قِبل الذكور". لكن لا تزال بعض الأسر متمسكة بمفاضلة الأدوار القائمة على الجنسانية، فتلك هي أسرة إحدى السيدات البالغة منتصف عقدها الثالث لا تزال تتمسك بالتقليد القائم على إنجاز النساء لواجباتهن الأسرية فقط، وهذا ما تجده السيدة صعب التماشي معه نظراً لانشغالها بصورة دائمة في دراستها الجامعية. ورغم أنها قبلت بهذا لأنه تقليد أفغاني، فهي تأمل أن يتغير على الجانب الفعلي.

وكان الكثير من اللاجئين الأفغان أعضاءً بالطائفة الإمامية الإسماعيلية النزارية الشيعية التي يُشار إليها اختصاراً بالإسماعيلية. وتساعد المشاركة في البرامج التطوعية التي تديرها المؤسسات الإسماعيلية المحلية في التزويد بحس الانتماء وتمثل أداة لتسهيل التفاعل مع الشباب الإسماعيلي المحلي من الخلفيات الأخرى، في حين تزود الفعاليات الاجتماعية الإسماعيلية الشباب الأفغاني بفرصة التعبير عن تراثهم في عدة صور، بما في ذلك الأغاني والرقص والأطعمة. وذكر أغلب الشباب ممن أُجريت معهم المقابلة أنه على الرغم من استمرارهم في اعتبار أفغانستان "وطناً"، فإنهم سيبحثون عن وطن ثانٍ في فانكوفر..

يعمل الرحيم موسى al-rahim.moosa@focushumanitarian.org مسؤولاً لبرامج اللاجئين والنازحين داخلياً في مؤسسة فوكاس للمساعدة الإنسانية (FOCUS) بكندا. وبوصفها إحدى المؤسسات التابعة لشبكة الآغا خان للتنمية، تساعد مؤسسة فوكاس في تسهيل إعادة توطين اللاجئين الأفغان في كندا منذ تسعينيات القرن العشرين وأوائل القرن الحادي والعشرين.

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Cultural reflections of Afghan youth living in Canada

Of central importance to Afghan culture is respect for one’s elders – for parents, grandparents and the eldest siblings in the family unit. Such respect is expressed physically in various ways, from holding indirect or lowered eye contact with an elder when speaking to them to offering an elder a place to sit. Interviews with Afghan refugee youth who moved to Vancouver, Canada, in their adolescent years suggest that all those interviewed were pleased to have maintained strong inter-generational relations but that many have also welcomed the influence of Western societal norms. One 23-year-old young man said that being able to hold eye contact with his elders allows him to assess their reactions to his words, an important aspect of communication; he also felt that being considered on a more equal footing with his eldest sibling allows for friendlier social relations between them.

All  interviewees expressed regret that they had become “disconnected” from their parents because their education and work reduced the time spent with them, though some also said that this was due to their parents’ lack of familiarity with Western society and consequent inability to provide educational or career guidance.

More discretion is being given to young people to choose their spouses – whether because traditional Afghan perceptions of marriage are actually changing or because they are merely adapting pragmatically to different circumstances, that is, the reduced probability of finding a suitable spouse of their own ethnic group in a foreign country. Certain other cultural standards concerning relationships remain steadfast, however; all youth reported that the notion of casual dating has yet to be considered acceptable.

Many of those interviewed mentioned a fundamental change in attitudes towards gender differences, resulting in greater female participation in religious and family affairs within the Afghan community. As one young woman in her mid-20s stated, “the other thing that changed by resettlement in Canada is the encouragement, respect [and] appreciation of [the] female by the male.” However, some individual households still maintain gender-based role differentiation; the family of one woman in her mid-20s still holds fast to the tradition that only women perform household duties, which she has found troublesome to cope with given her full-time university schedule. Though she accepts that this is Afghan tradition, on a pragmatic level she hopes that this will change.

Many Afghan refugees were members of the Shia Imami Nizari Ismaili faith, generally referred to as Ismailis. Involvement in volunteer programmes run by local Ismaili institutions helps provide a sense of belonging and a means to facilitate interaction with local Ismaili youth from other backgrounds, while Ismaili social events provide Afghan youth with the opportunity to express their heritage in various ways, including song, dance and food. Most youth interviewed said that although Afghanistan will always be considered ‘home’, they have found a second home in Vancouver.

 

Al-Rahim Moosa al-rahim.moosa@focushumanitarian.org is Program Officer for Refugees and IDPs at Focus Humanitarian Assistance (FOCUS) Canada. An affiliate of the Aga Khan Development Network, FOCUS helped facilitate the resettlement of Afghan refugees to Canada in the 1990s and early 2000s.

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview