كلمة أسرة التحرير

يواجه الناس حول العالم الإساءة ويتعرضون للاعتقال التعسفي والابتزاز والعنف والتمييز الشديد وغياب الحماية الرسمية على أساس ميولهم الجنسية و/أو هوياتهم الجندرية. وهذا الأمر حقيقة تعيشها حتى الدول التي تشهد تقدماً نسبياً في البيئة القانونية الخاصة بالمثليات والمثليين ومزدوجي الميل الجنسي ومغيري الجندر ومزدوجي الجنس (إل جي بي تي آي)، فكثير منهم يشعرون بضرورة الهجرة رغماً عنهم من بيوتهم وديارهم بحثاً عن السلامة في بلد آخر.

ومع أنَّ التَّهجير قد يزوِّدهم بالفرصة للتعبير عن جانب شخصي يتجذر في أعماق مشاعرهم بخصوص هوياتهم التي لم يكن من الممكن أو المسموح التعبير عنها في بلدانهم الأصلية، فإنَّ السلامة والحماية المنشودتين غالباً ما تكونان بعيدتا المنال في البلدان التي يهاجرون إليها أيضاً حيث غالباً ما يواجه المهاجرون الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) معاملة غير مقبولة قد تكون في بعض الأحيان غير مفهومة.

لكنَّ الوعي الآن يزداد بضرورة امتداد كامل الحقوق بحيث تغطي الأشخاص الذين يجدون أنفسهم وقد أصبحوا أقلية في المجتمع بسبب ميولهم أو هوياتهم التي غالباً ما يُنظر إليها على أنها من المحظورات الاجتماعية أو من الأمور غير المقبولة أو التي لا يمكن للمجتمع أن يقبل بها. ويبدو أنَّه من المستحيل في أغلب الأحيان فصل المواقف الاجتماعية والثقافية والدينية الضاربة بجذورها عن حماية المهجَّرين الـ (إل جي بي تي آي). لكنه رغم ذلك، هناك تغير سريع ومستمر يطرأ على هذا الموضوع حيث تشهد كثير من السياقات تحسينات جذرية خاصة فيما يتعلق بتدريب سلطات اللجوء وتحديث التشريعات وتحسين قرارات المحاكم والسوابق القضائية ذات الصلة بذلك.

ومع ذلك، ما زالت هناك تحديات وحاجات تطرقت إلى معظمها مقالات هذا العدد. وفي هذا السياق، يمثِّل الجمع بين حماية الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) واللاجئين هدفاً من أهداف هذا العدد من نشرة الهجرة القسرية للمساعدة في الجهود الرامية نحو رفع مستوى الحماية.

ولقد أضفنا في الصفحة 63 مسرداً صغيراً لتوضيح بعض المصطلحات المستخدمة في المقالات ذلك أنَّ أصحاب المقالات يستخدمون مصطلحات مختلفة عند الإشارة إلى المُهجِّرين الذين يتمتعون بجندر لا يوافق الأفكار الاجتماعية السائدة ومنها (إل جي بي تي) و(إل جي بي تي آي) وسمحنا لمؤلفي المقالات باستخدام المصطلحات التي يفضلونها. وإضافة إلى ذلك، رغم أنَّ المقالات لا تغطي صراحةً مسائل الحماية المتعلقة على وجه الخصوص بالأشخاص مزدوجي الميل الجنسي أو مزدوجي الجنس فهناك كثير من هذه المقالات مما لا تقل أهمية بالنسبة لهم.

نتقدم بالشكر الخالص لراشيل ليفيتان من جمعية مساعدة المهاجرين العبرانيين على مساعدتها المشكورة بصفتها مستشارة خاصة لهذا العدد، كما نعبّر عن امتناننا لمؤسسة أركوس والوزارة الاتحادية السويسرية للشؤون الخارجية ومفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين ومكتب السكان واللاجئين والهجرة في وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية على دعمهم المالي لهذا العدد. وقد أدرجنا في الصفحة 63 قائمة بجميع الجهات المؤسسية الحالية الداعمة لنا بمن فيهم الذين تكرموا بتقديم التمويل الإضافي لنشرة الهجرة القسرية. ولا يفوتنا أن نشكر القراء الذين قدموا الدعم لهذه النشرة على أساس فردي.

العدد كاملاً منشور على الإنترنت على الموقع www.fmreview.org/sogi بنسقي HTML و PDF بالإضافة إلى الملفات الصوتية للمقالات. وسوف تتاح أيضاً نسخها الإلكترونية والورقية باللغات الإنجليزية والفرنسية والإسبانية والعربية.

تتوافر أيضاً قائمة للعدد 42 من نشرة الهجرة القسرية (قائمة بالمحتويات التي يمكن استعراضها بخاصية الضغط على الرابط) مطبوعة وعلى الإنترنت على الموقع

www.fmreview.org/sogi/FMR42listing.pdf

نرحب بمساعدتكم بنشر هذا العدد بأوسع نطاق ممكن، لذلك يُرجى نسخ الروابط المفضية إلى العدد وإضافتها إلى قوائم مصادركم ونشرها على مواقع تويتر وإضافة Like على موقعنا على الفيسبوك وعمل أي شيء آخر من شانه رفع الوعي بمحتويات هذا العدد. كما نشجعكم على إعادة نشر العدد على الإنترنت وإعادة نشر مقالاته شريطة ذكر المصدر وإدراج الرابط المؤدي إلى الموقع الأصلي.

يمكنكم أيضاً الاطلاع على معلومات تفصيلية حول الأعداد القادمة على الصفحة 63. ولمتابعة أخبار نشرة الهجرة القسرية وإعلاناتها أولاً بأول: يمكنكم المشاركة في خدمة التنبيهات الإلكترونية عن طريق البريد الإلكتروني من خلال الرابط التالي www.fmreview.org /ar/request/alerts أو الانضمام إلى صفحتينا على فيسبوك وتويتر.

مع أطيب التمنيات

ماريون كولدرلي وموريس هيرسون

محررا نشرة الهجرة القسرية

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

From the Editors

Around the world, people face abuse, arbitrary arrest, extortion, violence, severe discrimination and lack of official protection because of their sexual orientation and/or gender identity. This is true even in countries where the legal environment for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex (LGBTI) people is relatively progressive. Many feel compelled to flee their homes, seeking safety in another country.

Although displacement may provide an opportunity for them to express a profoundly felt personal aspect of their identity that has not been possible or allowed in their country of origin, safety and protection are often elusive in these other countries too, where LGBTI forced migrants are frequently met with unacceptable and sometimes incomprehensible treatment.

There is now a growing awareness that full rights should be extended to people whose orientation or identity is not only as a minority in society but has also often been considered taboo, unacknowledged or unaccepted. It seems that it is often impossible to divorce deeply felt social, cultural and religious attitudes from the protection of LGBTI forced migrants. Yet there has been and continues to be rapid change, with radical improvements in many contexts – especially in terms of training of asylum authorities, updating of legislation and improvement in case law.

There remain, however, significant challenges and needs, many of which are identified in the following articles. In this context, bringing LGBTI and refugee protection sectors together – one of the aims of this issue of FMR – should help lead to greater protection.

We have included a short glossary on page 63 to clarify certain terms. The authors of the articles in this FMR use different terms when referring to gender non-conforming forced migrants – such as LGBTI, LGBT and sexual minority – and we have allowed them to use the terms they themselves prefer. In addition, although the articles do not explicitly cover protection issues relating specifically to bisexual or intersex people, much of what is written here will be equally relevant for them.

We would like to thank Rachel Levitan of HIAS for her invaluable assistance as special advisor on this issue. We are also very grateful to the Arcus Foundation, the Swiss Federal Department of Foreign Affairs, UNHCR and the US Department of State’s Bureau of Population, Refugees, and Migration for their funding support for this issue. All our current institutional donors, including those who generously provide unearmarked funding for FMR, are listed on page 63. Thanks also to those individual readers who have donated to support FMR.

The full issue is online at www.fmreview.org/sogi in html, pdf and audio formats. It will be available online and in print in English, French, Spanish and Arabic.

FMR42 Listing (expanded contents listing for this issue) is available in print and online at www.fmreview.org/sogi/FMR42listing.pdf

We would welcome your help in disseminating this issue as widely as possible. Please post links to the issue, add it to your resources lists, Tweet about it, ‘like’ our Facebook page and do anything else that will raise awareness of its contents. We encourage you to post online or reproduce FMR articles but please acknowledge the source and provide the original website link.

Keep up to date on all FMR news and announcements: sign up for our email alerts at www.fmreview.org /request/alerts or join us on Facebook or Twitter.

Details of our forthcoming issues can be found on page 63.

 

With our best wishes

Marion Couldrey and Maurice Herson
Editors, Forced Migration Review

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview