منع إعادة النزوح من خلال إعادة الاندماج الحقيقي في بوروندي

غالباً ما يكون النزوح جزءاً من عملية دورية للصراع والنزوح. لذلك، فإن منع النزوح لا يتعلق فقط بمنع النزوح الجديد، لكن أيضاً بضمان عدم تهجير الأشخاص مرة أخرى.

فور حل الصراع بما يكفي للسماح بالعودة (سواء أكانت العودة طوعية أم قسرية)، وتسليم حزمة العودة إلى من سجلوا في برنامج العودة، تعد الأزمة منتهية ويُعاد توجيه التمويل (أي تقليله) وتبتعد إعادة الاندماج عن الأنظار. لكن المشكلة الخاصة بهذه العملية تتمثل في أنه حيثما يُولى الاهتمام غير الكافي لعملية إعادة الاندماج المعقدة إلى حد كبير والهشة والمحفوفة بالمخاطر، تتزايد إمكانية تجدد أحوال التوتر والصراعات ومن هنا تعود موجات النزوح في نهاية المطاف.

وتعد بوروندي مثالاً جيداً على ذلك، حيث تشهد هذه الدولة المهمة الطويلة والشاقة لإعادة البناء بعد عقود من العنف والاضطرابات السياسية والنزوح. ورغم بقاء عشرات الآلاف في المعتقلات، عاد ما يزيد على نصف مليون نازح بوروندي خلال السنوات القليلة الماضية، بعضهم عاد بعد قضاء أكثر من ثلاثة عقود في المنفى. في حين ينظر الفاعلون الخارجيون عودتهم على أنها نجاح، بل وصفتها المفوضية العليا للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين على أنها "واحدة من أكثر العمليات نجاحاً في القارة الأفريقية".[1]

وتُرى حقيقة أن العديد من الأشخاص استطاعوا العودة على أنها مشجعة وترمز للتفاؤل بالنسبة لمستقبل الدولة. لكن في حين اتُبع الصواب في كثير من الجوانب ضمن عملية العودة، كانت هناك بعض الأخطاء في هذه العملية. ويُبرهن على هذه الأخطاء في بوروندي وفي الدول المجاورة، خاصة تنزانيا، حيث ما زال آلاف اللاجئين يقاومون العودة. والمحتمل أن تكون إعادة الاندماج الفاعلة لمن نزحوا هي أكثر التحديات التي تواجه بوروندي، كما أنها قد تكون أولوية إذا ما أريد حقاً تجنُّب النزوح في المستقبل.

إنه لمن الصعب للغاية أن تُحدد إعادة الدمج من ناحية الكم. لكن، من الواضح أن المعيار الأساسي للعودة المستدامة هو قدرة جميع البورونديين على ممارسة حقوقهم كمواطنين، على نحو واقعي وهادف، خاصة قدرة المهجرين الذين عاشوا في المنفى على إعادة الدمج الملائم في المجتمع البوروندي.

ولا دليل أوضح على ممارسة الحقوق أمن قدرة العائدين على الحصول العادل على الأراضي. ففي بوروندي، تكسب الأغلبية الشاسعة من السكان عيشها من الإنتاج الزراعي المعيشي. لذلك، ليس من المفاجئ أن تتمثل القضية المهيمنة في عملية العودة في قدرة العائدين على استعادة الأراضي- تلك الأراضي التي استُخدمت من قِبل من لم يفروا خلال العقود الماضية. وترتبط الأرض في هذا السياق بقضايا العدالة والتوافق والسلام المستدام، إلى جانب كسب الرزق. وهنا أصبح العيب الأساسي في العملية واضحاً: صارت الأرض تُعامل بصورة أساسية كسلعة اقتصادية التي يمكن حلها من خلال المساعدة الإنسانية بدلاً من المساعدة السياسية القوية. وبالطبع، فإنها مورد اقتصادي، إذ يحتاج الأشخاص للأرض لزراعة المحاصيل لإطعام أسرهم. لكن بالنسبة للعائدين الذين أُبعدوا عن دولتهم لعقود، يعد الحصول على الأرض مؤشراً هاماً لإعادة الاندماج واسترجاع المواطنة الفاعلة والدمج. لذلك، فإن تحقيق المواطنة للعائدين مرتهن بصورة رئيسية باستعادة ملكية الأرض العادلة والفاعلة، خاصة أراضي الأسرة، مما يضع نهاية لأسباب الصراع التي انفصمت بها رابطة المواطنة في المقام الأول.

لكن حتى الآن، لم يستطع الكثيرون استعادة أراضيهم، خاصة في الحالات التي تم فيها شغل الأراضي ولا يرغب الشاغلون الحاليون لها في المغادرة. وحيثما يحاول العائدون المطالبة بأراضيهم من خلال المؤسسات القضائية، فإنهم في الغالب يجدون أن الحكم ليس في صالحهم. حتى وإن جاء في صالحهم، فإنهم يخشون على أمنهم من انتقام الشاغلين الحاليين، خاصة عندما يكون شاغل الأرض قوياً أو ذا نفوذ. وبالنسبة لمن لا يستطيعون استعادة أراضيهم، فإن هناك خيارات محدودة، فيما يتعلق بالحصول على أراضٍ بديلة، كما أن كثيراً من العائدين يعاد نقلهم إلى ما يُطلق عليه "قرى السلام"، وتضم تلك القرى العائدين مع الجماعات الأخرى المستضعفة التي تحتاج للأراضي، وتخصص لهم مساحات لبناء المنازل والمزارع. ورغم أن ذلك يُرى بصورة عامة على أنه أفضل من الظروف السيئة التي عاش فيها الأشخاص في المخيمات الانتقالية، فإنه غير مرغوب بشكل كبير. وتبقى الأسئلة المهمة عما إذا كانوا سيقدمون للأشخاص فعلياً الفرص المناسبة لإعادة الاندماج في النسيج الاجتماعي للمجتمع البوروندي وإقناع باقي المواطنين الذين لا يزالون يعيشون في المنفى بالعودة إلى وطنهم، مع إقصائهم وعزلهم.

وفي حين أن الأرض ليست هي التحدي الوحيد، فلتوزيع الأرض العادل في بوروندي أهمية كبيرة في إنجاح عملية بناء السلام الحالية، كما أنه مؤشر هام لإمكانية السلام الدائم. ومن خلال هذا المعيار، أي رؤية العودة وإعادة الاندماج في بوروندي على أنها نجاحاً، فسيتم تجاهل المشكلات الخطيرة المتزايدة. ويستمر عشرات الآلاف من اللاجئين البورونديين المقيمين في مخيم متابيلا في دولة تنزانيا المجاورة في مقاومة العودة على الرغم من الظروف المعيشية المروعة التي يعيشون فيها وسحب العديد من الخدمات داخل المخيم وإثارة الأسئلة المهمة حول النجاح المزعوم لعملية الإعادة.

وبشكل خاص، وطالما اعتُبر الحصول على الأرض في الأساس عملية إنسانية أكثر منها سياسية، فإن هناك إمكانية حقيقية في أن تزعزع العودة الجماعية استقرار البلاد. وبدلاً من ذلك، فإنه من الأساسي أن تولي الوكالات الحكومية وصانعو السياسات والفاعلين الإنسانيين الأهمية الكافية للحاجة للتعامل مع المطالب الحالية الخاصة بالأرض بالصورة العادلة والعملية في نفس الوقت. وعليهم أيضاً ضمان استثمار ما يكفي من الوقت والموارد في عملية إعادة الاندماج المعقدة والهشة. لذلك، يتعلق منع النزوح في هذا السياق بضمان ارتكاز إعادة الاندماج في إطار عمل أشمل لإعادة البناء الوطني وإنهاء النزوح السابق بالصورة التي تكسر حلقات الصراع والنزوح.

لوسي هوفيل lucy@hovil.co.uk كبير باحثي مبادرة حقوق اللاجئين الدولية www.refugee-rights.org ومدير تحرير المجلة الدولية للعدالة الانتقالية www.ijtj.oxfordjournals.org.

يعتمد هذا المقال على البحث المقام في بوروندي عام 2009. انظر مبادرة حقوق اللاجئين الدولية ومجلس أبحاث العلوم الاجتماعية ومنظمة REMA "لا يمكن لشخصين الاشتراك في نفس الحذاء: المواطنة والأرض وعودة اللاجئين إلى بوروندي"، المواطنة والنزوح في منطقة البحيرات العظمى، ورقة العمل الثانية، نوفمبر 2009.[2]

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Preventing re-displacement through genuine reintegration in Burundi

Displacement is often part of a cyclical process of conflict and displacement. Preventing displacement, therefore, is not only about preventing new displacement but about ensuring that people do not get re-displaced.

As soon as a conflict is resolved enough to allow for return (whether voluntary or coerced), and the return package has been handed over to those who have signed up for the repatriation programme, the crisis is deemed to be over, funding is re-directed (i.e. reduced) and reintegration falls off the radar. The problem with this process is that where inadequate attention is paid to the extremely complex, fragile and fraught process of reintegration, the possibility for renewed tensions, conflict and eventually re-displacement increases.

Burundi is a good example of this. The country is undergoing the long and painful task of reconstruction after decades of violence, political turmoil and displacement. Although several tens of thousands remain in exile, more than half a million displaced Burundians have returned over the past few years, some after more than three decades in exile. Their return is seen as a success by external actors, including UNHCR, which has described it as “one of the most successful operations on the African continent”.[1]

The fact that so many people have been able to return is extremely encouraging and symbolises optimism for the country’s future. But while much has gone right with the return process, there have been some serious shortcomings with the process. These shortcomings are evidenced both within Burundi and in neighbouring countries, in particular Tanzania, where thousands of refugees continue to resist return. The effective reintegration of those who have been displaced is probably the greatest challenge facing the country, and a priority if future displacement is to be avoided.

Reintegration is notoriously hard to quantify. However, it is clear that a key measure of sustainable return is the ability for all Burundians to genuinely and meaningfully exercise their rights as citizens, especially the ability of those who have been living in exile to properly reintegrate into Burundian society.

Nowhere is the evidence of the exercising of rights more evident than in the ability for returnees to gain equitable access to land. In Burundi, the vast majority of the population makes their livelihoods from subsistence agricultural production. It is not surprising, therefore, that the dominant issue in the return process is the ability for returnees to reclaim land – land that has been used by those who did not flee for the past decades. Land, in this context, relates to issues of justice, reconciliation and sustainable peace as well as livelihood. And this is where a key shortcoming in the process has become evident: land has been treated primarily as an economic commodity that can be resolved with humanitarian assistance rather than a strongly political one. Of course, it is an economic resource – people need land to grow crops to feed their families – but for returnees who have been alienated from the state for decades, access to land is an important indicator of reintegration and the reinstatement of active citizenship and inclusion. The realisation of citizenship for returnees, therefore, is centrally contingent upon fair and effective repossession of land – and specifically family land – signifying an end to the causes of flight that broke their citizenship bond in the first place.

Yet to date, many have not been able to reclaim their land, especially in cases where it is occupied and the current inhabitants are unwilling to leave. Where returnees have attempted to make claims to their land through judicial institutions they have often found that the ruling is not in their favour. Even when it is, they fear for their safety from retaliation by the current occupants, particularly when the land occupant is powerful or influential. For those who cannot reclaim their land, there are limited options with regard to accessing alternative land, and many have been relocated into what are called ‘peace villages’; these villages incorporate returnees with other vulnerable groups in need of land, allotting them space to build homes and farm. Although this is generally seen as an improvement over the dire conditions in which people had been living in transit camps, they are deeply unpopular. Serious questions remain over whether, being set apart and isolated, they will in practice offer people adequate opportunities for reintegration into the social fabric of Burundi society and persuade its remaining citizens still living in exile to return home.

While land is not the only challenge, equitable land distribution in Burundi is certainly critical to the success of current peace-building process and an important indicator of the potential for lasting peace. By this measure, to view return and reintegration in Burundi as a success would be to ignore the serious problems that are brewing. Tens of thousands of Burundian refugees living in Mtabila camp in neighbouring Tanzania continue to resist repatriation despite appalling living conditions and the withdrawal of many services within the camp, raising serious questions about the assumed success of the returns process.

In particular, for as long as access to land is seen as primarily a humanitarian rather than political process, there is a very real possibility that mass return would destabilise the country. Instead, it is vital that government agencies, policymakers and humanitarian actors pay adequate attention to the need to address the current demands on land in a way that is simultaneously equitable and feasible. They need to ensure that adequate time and resources are invested in a complex and fragile reintegration process. Preventing displacement in this context, therefore, is about ensuring that reintegration is grounded in a broader framework of national reconstruction and about ending previous displacement in such a way as to break cycles of conflict and displacement.

 

Lucy Hovil is Senior Researcher at International Refugee Rights Initiative and Managing Editor of the International Journal of Transitional Justice.

This article draws on research conducted in Burundi in 2009. See International Refugee Rights Initiative, Social Science Research Council and REMA Ministries ‘“Two People Can’t Share the Same Pair of Shoes”: Citizenship, Land and the Return of Refugees to Burundi’, Citizenship and Displacement in the Great Lakes Region Working Paper No 2, November 2009.[2]

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview