موضوع مُصغَّر خاص- نحو فهم الأسباب الجذرية للتَّهجير والتصدي لها

الموعد المقرر للنشر أكتوبر/تشرين الأول 2019

الموعد الأخير لاستلام المقالات: الثلاثاء، 28 مايو/أيار 2019

يشهد العالم في شتَّى أنحائه تزايداً ملموساً في أعداد أوضاع التَّهجير المُطوَّلة وتعود بعض أسبابها إلى غياب الإرادة السياسية للتصدي للأهداف الجذرية. ويلاحظ الميثاق العالمي حول اللاجئين أنَّ "تفادي أوضاع اللجوء الكبيرة وحلها [....] تمثل مصدراً للقلق الكبير للمجتمع الدولي [...] ويتطلب ذلك بذل الجهود المبكرة للتصدي لبواعث التَّهجير والارتقاء في سَوِيَّة التعاون بين الجهات الفاعلة في السياسة والعمل الإنساني والإنمائي والسلام." وليست الجهود المبذولة لفهم الأسباب الجذرية والتصدي لها وليدة الساعة، لكنَّ الميثاق بتركيزه على الشراكات العالمية والمناصرة يتيح الفرصة أمام إحياء الحوار وإشراك جمع واسع النطاق من مختلف الجهات الفاعلة العاملة عبر مختلف القطاعات والمسؤوليات.

لكنَّ تحقق ذلك يتطلب أن يحصل الفاعلون على فهم أفضل حول كيفية تأطيرنا المفهومي ’للأسباب الجذرية‘. ومع أنَّ التحليلات تأتي في العادة لتركز على البواعث المباشرة للتَّهجير (التي يشار إليها في العادة ضمن فئات واسعة مثل انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان والنزاع والمخاطر الطبيعية والمشروعات الإنمائية) فالتَّهجير ينتج أكثر من مجموعة متضافرة من عدة عوامل ضمنية غالباً ما تتفاعل فيما بينها عبر عقود من الزمن.

فلا بد إذن من انتهاج مقاربة خاصة للتصدي للعوامل السياقية التي تُعجِّل في التهجير، على أن تدرس تلك المقاربة الطريقة التي يجب الاستجابة بها إلى الحاجات الفردية والحوافز التي تحث اللاجئين والنَّازحين داخلياً على الهجرة، ولا بأس في أن تتضمن المقاربة تحليلاً للمواقف والاستجابات إزاء الخطر والاستضعاف والصمود واللُّحمَة الاجتماعية وغيرها من محاور أخرى.

وأخيراً، لا بد من منح الاعتبار لكيفية استخدام المساعدات الإنسانية كوسيلة للتصدي للأسباب الجذرية للتَّهجير. وبغياب العناصر المُمكِّنة كالإدارة الرشيدة وسيادة القانون على سبيل المثال قد لا تتمكن تدخلات المساعدات من الحيلولة دون حدوث التَّهجير أو منع استمرار الحركة البشرية، ما يقتضي إعادة النظر في الافتراض القائل إنَّ التدخلات الإنمائية وحدها يمكن أن تحقق تلك النتائج.

ضمن هذا الموضوع المُصَغَّر، نسعى إلى تعزيز الفهم الجمعي للأسباب الجذرية المسؤولة عن التَّهجير وإثراء النقاشات الدائرة حول الحماية والحلول التي سوف يطلقها منتدى اللاجئين العالمي في ديسمبر/كانون الأول 2019. وتتطلع أسرة تحرير نشرة الهجرة القسرية إلى المشاركات الموجَّهة بالممارسة التي تعكس نطاقاً متنوعاً من الخبرات والآراء التي تتناول قضايا على غرار ما يلي:

  • كيف يمكننا أن نبني الإرادة السياسية والمتابعة الضروريتين للتصدي للأسباب الجذرية وإدراك العوائق وبناء الحلول لأوضاع التَّهجير المُطوَّلة؟
  • كيف يمكن للدول وغيرها من أصحاب المصلحة المعنيين أن تكون أكثر فعالية في استخدامها للمعارف القائمة والأطر العامة للحماية والأدوات العملية لدعم مساعي فض النزاعات وما البيانات والأدلة الإثباتية الإضافية التي تحتاج إليها لإثراء تحليل مفيد وشامل يراعي السياق للأسباب الجذرية للتَّهجير؟
  • في حين أنَّه من الضروري النظر إلى المنع والاستجابة على أنَّهما مسؤولية يقع معظمها على عاتق الدولة، ما الأدوار التي يمكن للجماعات المسلحة من غير الدول ومنظمات المجتمع المدني والقطاع الخاص وغيرها من المنظمات العابرة للحكومات والدولية (الإنمائية منها والإنسانية) أن تمثلها وتؤديها في فهم الأسباب الجذرية والتصدي لها بنا فيها المساهمة في بناء القواعد والمعايير الدولية التي تقبل بها الدول؟
  • ما الأثر الذي تتركه المساعدات الإنمائية على الأسباب الجذرية؟ وكيف يمكن لتدفقات المساعدات والمشروعات والأولويات أن تكون أكثر فعالية في مواجهة الأسباب الجذرية والتصدي لها؟
  • ما الدروس التي يمكن تعلمها من عمليات بناء السلام ومنع النزاعات على مستوى المجتمعات المحلية ووضع البرامج فيها بقيادة المجتمعات المحلية في التصدي للأسباب الجذرية والعثور على الحلول المستدامة للتَّهجير؟
  • كيف يمكن تصميم السياسات لمساعدة اللاجئين والنَّازحين داخلياً في بناء صمودهم بما يسهم في الجهود المبذولة في التصدي للأسباب الجذرية للتهجير القسري؟

 

الموعد الأخير لاستلام المقالات: الثلاثاء، 28 مايو/أيار
(يرجى ملاحظة أنَّ هذا الموعد النهائي أبكر من الموعد النهائي لتسلم مقالات الموضوع الرئيسي لهذا العدد).

حجم المقال: لا يتعدى 2500 كلمة

في حالة الرغبة بالمشاركة بمقالة، يرجى التواصل مع أسرة التحرير على البريد الإلكتروني fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk مُسبَّقاً قبل أن تكتب مقالتك وإرسال مخطط عام لما تقترح الكتابة حوله. وسوف نخبرك إذا ما كنا مهتمين بتلقي مقالتك المقترحة وسوف نقدم لك التغذية الراجعة والإرشاد التوجيهي. ونلفت عنايتكم إلى أنَّنا لن نتمكن من نشر أكثر من بضع مقالات محدودة العدد ولذلك لا نريد استلام أي مقالات قبل أن نتنتاقش بها مع المؤلفين مُسبَّقاً.

يرجى ملاحظة أنَّنا أعددنا قائمة موضوعيةبمعظم المقالات المنشورة إلى هذا التاريخ في نشرة الهجرة القسرية التي تركز على الأسباب الجذرية للتَّهجير. متاحة على الإنترنت على الرابط
bit.ly/FMR-Thematic-Listing-Root-Causes
ويمكنك الاستئناس بتلك الموضوعات تجنباً لكتابة مقالة سبق أن كُتِب عنها من قبل. (ويرجى عدم التردد في مشاركتها مع الآخرين)

يمكنك الاطلاع على مزيد من التوجيهات على الرابط التالي www.fmreview.org/ar/writing-fmr

نطلب إلى المؤلفين أن يولوا اهتماماً مناسباً على وجه الخصوص بعلاقة استجابتهم للأشخاص من ذوي الإعاقة والمثليات والمثليون ومزدوجو الميل الجنسي ومغيرو الجندر وثنائيو الجنس والمتحيرون (إل جي بي تي آي كيو+) وكبار السن وغيرهم من المجموعات الضعيفة الخاصة بحيث يدرجونهم في مقاربتهم العامة ضمن مقالاتهم. ونحن مهتمون أيضاً بأن تعكس المقالات الخبرات والمعارف التي اكتسبتها المجتمعات والأفراد المتأثرون تأثراً مباشراً بهذه المسائل.

ومع أننا نسعى للمقالات التي تعكس خبرات وممارسات جيدة يمكن تكرارها وتحليلاً منطقياً للقضايا التي يهمنا معالجتها، نشجع المؤلفين في الوقت نفسه على مناقشة نقاط الإخفاق والفشل والصعوبات: فما الذي نجح وما الذي لم يحقق النجاح المطلوب وما أسباب ذلك؟

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Mini-feature - Towards understanding and addressing root causes of displacement

Due out October 2019

Deadline for submission of articles: Tuesday 28th May

An increasing number of displacement situations around the world are protracted, in part due to the absence of the political will to address root causes. The Global Compact on Refugees notes that “averting and resolving large refugee situations are […] matters of serious concern to the international community […] requiring early efforts to address their drivers and triggers, as well as improved cooperation among political, humanitarian, development and peace actors.” While efforts to understand and address the root causes of displacement are by no means new, the Compact, with its emphasis on global partnerships and solidarity, provides an opportunity to reinvigorate the debate and engage a broad range of different actors working across diverse sectors and mandates.

However, for this to happen, actors need to have a better and more aligned understanding of how we conceptualise ‘root causes’. While analysis has tended to focus on the immediate triggers of displacement (frequently labelled under broad categories such as human rights abuses, conflict, natural hazards or development projects), displacement more commonly results from a combination of multiple underlying factors, which often interact over decades.

An approach that addresses the contextual factors that precipitate displacement should also consider how to respond to the individual needs and motivations of refugees and internally displaced persons (IDPs) and could include an analysis of attitudes and responses to risk, vulnerability, resilience, and social cohesion, among others.

Finally, some consideration should be given to how development aid is used as a means of tackling the root causes of displacement. In the absence of elements such as good governance and rule of law, for example, development aid interventions may not prevent displacement or onward movement; the assumption that development interventions alone can achieve these outcomes should therefore be examined.

This special mini-feature will seek to enhance our collective understanding of the root causes of displacement and to inform discussions on protection and solutions at the Global Refugee Forum in December 2019. The FMR Editors are looking for practice-oriented submissions, reflecting a diverse range of experience and opinions, which address questions such as the following:

  • How can we forge the political will and follow-through needed to address root causes, recognise barriers, and develop solutions to protracted displacement situations?
  • How can States and other stakeholders make more effective use of existing knowledge, protection frameworks and practical tools to support the resolution of conflict, and what further data and evidence are required to inform useful, comprehensive and contextualised analysis of the root causes of displacement?
  • While prevention and response should be recognised primarily as a state responsibility, what roles can non-state armed groups, civil society organisations, the private sector and intergovernmental and international organisations (development and humanitarian) play in understanding and addressing root causes, including by contributing to the international norms and standards accepted by States?
  • How does development aid impact on root causes? And how can aid flows, projects and priorities more effectively address root causes?
  • What can be learned from locally led programming and community-level conflict prevention and peacebuilding in addressing root causes and finding sustainable solutions to displacement?
  • How can policies designed to assist refugees and IDPs to build their resilience contribute to efforts to address the underlying causes of forced displacement?

 

Deadline for submission of articles: Tuesday 28th May (please note that this deadline is sooner than the deadline for the feature theme article submissions for this issue)

Maximum length of article: 2,500 words.

If you are interesting in contributing an article, please contact the Editors at fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk IN ADVANCE OF WRITING, with an outline of what you plan to write on; we will let you know if we are interested in receiving your proposed submission and will provide feedback and guidance. We will only be able to publish a small number of articles and do not wish to receive submissions which have not been discussed in advance.

Please note that we have prepared a ‘thematic listing’ of most of the articles published to date in FMR focusing on the root causes of displacement. Online at bit.ly/FMR-Thematic-Listing-Root-Causes. You may wish to consult this to avoid duplication. (Please do also feel free to share it with others.)

More guidance for authors is available at www.fmreview.org/writing-fmr.

We ask authors to give appropriate consideration to the particular relevance of their responses to persons with disabilities, to LGBTIQ+ persons, to older persons, and to other groups with specific vulnerabilities, and to seek to include a gendered approach as part of their articles. And we are particularly keen to reflect the experiences and knowledge of communities and individuals directly affected by these questions.

While we are looking for examples of good, replicable practice and experience as well as sound analysis of the issues at stake, we also urge writers to discuss failures and difficulties: what does/did not work so well, and why?

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview